Nunatsiaq News
NEWS: Nunavut November 05, 2012 - 7:31 pm

Eleven names on official list for Dec. 10 Nunavut Tunngavik president election

Official list released Nov. 5, 7 p.m. eastern


The names of 11 people appear on the official list of candidates contesting the presidency of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. in an election to be held Dec. 10.

Adamee Itorcheak, NTI’s chief returning officer, released the official list Nov. 5 at 7 p.m. Eastern time.

Here are the names on the official list:

• Mikidjuk Akavak

• Larry Audlaluk

• Savikataaq Ford

• Paul Kaludjak

• Vinnie Karetak

• Jerry Komaksiutiksak

• David Kunuk

• Gabriel Nirlungayuk

• Bernadette Makpah-Niviatsiak

• Manitok Thompson

• Cathy Towtongie

Towtongie, the incumbent president, will take a leave of absence under NTI’s election rules.

NTI vice president James Eetoolook will serve as president until the election is over.

Inuit who are Canadian citizens, 16 years of age or older, and enrolled under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement are eligible to vote in the election on Dec. 10.

Eligible voters can cast their ballots in advance polls Dec. 3 or may also vote by proxy.

Email this story to a friend... Print this page... Bookmark and Share