Nunatsiaq News
NEWS: Nunavut November 02, 2012 - 7:11 pm

Eleven names on unofficial list for Dec. 10 Nunavut Tunngavik president election

Official list to be released Nov. 5, 7 p.m. eastern


The names of eleven people appear on the unofficial list of candidates contesting the presidency of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. in an election to be held Dec. 10.

NTI election staff said the official list will be released Nov. 5 at 7 p.m. eastern time.

That’s to provide time to check the eligibility of candidates. Candidates may choose to withdraw their names before release of the official list on Nov. 5.

Here are the names on the unofficial list:

• Mikidjuk Akavak

• Larry Audlaluk

• Savikataaq Ford

• Paul Kaludjak

• Vinnie Karetak

• Jerry Komaksiutiksak

• David Kunuk

• Gabriel Nirlungayuk

• Bernadette Makpah-Niviatsiak

• Cathy Towtongie

• Manitok Thompson

Towtongie, the incumbent president, will take a leave of absence under NTI’s election rules.

NTI vice president James Eetoolook will serve as president until the election is over.


Email this story to a friend... Print this page... Bookmark and Share