Nunatsiaq News
NEWS: Nunavut October 18, 2012 - 6:57 am

We’re proud of Duane Smith’s accomplishment, ICC says

Smith gets 2013 Indspire award for politics


Aqqaluk Lynge, who chairs the Inuit Circumpolar Council, has sent his congratulations to ICC Canada’s president, Duane Smith, one of the three Inuit to receive 2013 Indspire awards.

“The Inuit Circumpolar Council is proud of Duane Smith’s accomplishment. His Indspire award is testimony to the fact that hard political work and respect for those that have different opinions on challenging Arctic matters pays off,” Lynge said in an Oct. 16 statement.

“Duane knows that making mutually beneficial alliances with others without compromising Inuit values is key to improving and sustaining the Inuit way of life.”

Fourteen outstanding indigenous Canadians were named Oct. 16 as recipients of 2013 Indspire awards.

Formerly known as the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, the Indspire awards celebrate the significant contributions of indigenous people in Canada.

The 2013 Indspire award recipients also include:

• Charlie Evalik of Cambridge Bay, the president of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association, for business and commerce; and

• Elizabeth Zarpa of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, a board member on the Canada World Youth, for the Inuit youth award.

Email this story to a friend... Print this page... Bookmark and Share