Nunatsiaq News
NEWS: Iqaluit October 12, 2012 - 1:56 pm

Iqaluit’s 2012 election: what to expect

“We encourage people to come early”

On Oct. 15, Iqaluit voters will see their ballots counted by this vote tabulation machine. Instead of drawing X marks beside the names of their preferred candidates, voters will use a pen to fill small circles. It's the first time such technology has been used in Nunavut.
On Oct. 15, Iqaluit voters will see their ballots counted by this vote tabulation machine. Instead of drawing X marks beside the names of their preferred candidates, voters will use a pen to fill small circles. It's the first time such technology has been used in Nunavut.

Iqaluit returning officer Kirt Ejesiak and his staff say they’re ready for Iqaluit’s municipal elections Oct. 15, a voting event that will see Nunavut’s first use of electronic vote counting devices.

Iqaluit voters will choose a mayor, eight city councillors and five members for the Iqaluit District Education Council.

Ratepayers, in a referendum, will decide whether to give the city permission to borrow up to $40 million for construction of a new aquatic centre.

As always, Ejesiak hopes voters don’t leave their decision until the last minute, to avoid a big rush just before polling closes at 7:00 p.m.

“We encourage people to come early,” returning officer Kirt Ejesiak said.

Here’s some basic information for voters on what to expect this Oct. 15.

What’s different?

For the first time, Iqaluit will use digital vote tabulation machines supplied by a company called Elections System and Software, which provides computerized vote counting devices to public bodies throughout North America.

Voters will notice the biggest difference on the ballot sheets: they will not be asked to draw an X beside the name of their preferred candidate.

Instead, voters will be asked to fill in a small circle, Ejesiak said.

After the voter is finished marking the ballot, the sheet will be fed into a tabulation machine. This machine will scan the ballot and record the result.

The paper ballot will fall into a secure box used to store paper ballots in case they are needed as a backup.

Voters will see one ballot paper for the Iqaluit mayor and council election.

A separate ballot paper will be used for the Iqaluit District Education Authority election, and another for the ratepayers’ borrowing referendum.

Ejesiak said he hopes the new system will generate fast, accurate election results — within an hour after polling ends.

You may cast ballots for as few as one and as many as eight candidates in the city council election. In the Iqaluit DEA election, you may vote for up to five candidates.

There will be no election for the Apex District Education Authority or the Commission scolaire francophone du Nunavut.

All candidates nominated for those two bodies have already gained seats by acclamation.

Who’s eligible to vote?

To be eligible to vote in the mayor, council and Iqaluit DEA elections, you must be 18 or older, a Canadian citizen and resident of Iqaluit for at least 12 months as of election day.

Eligible voters who missed the Oct. 5 deadline for changes to the voters list may still register as voters and cast ballots on election day, Ejesiak said.

For the ratepayers referendum, any person, group, firm or corporate entity paying property tax is eligible to vote. A person or a firm owning more than one property gets only one vote.

Where do you vote?

Iqaluit voters may cast ballots at the cadet hall, while Apex voters may cast ballots at the Abe Okpik centre.

The only exception is the ratepayers referendum. Eligible ratepayers will cast ballots for that referendum at the cadet hall only.

Polling opens at 10:00 a.m. Oct. 15 and closes at 7:00 p.m.

What if I can’t get out of the house?

Ejesiak said he and his staff have organized a mobile poll for people who are unable to get to the polling stations.

By request, elections staff will drive to your residence, allow you to vote, then transport your ballots to the polling station in a secure container.

To request a mobile poll, call 222-2055, Ext. 111,

Who’s running?


Three candidates will contest the mayoral position:

• John Graham;

• Allen Hayward;

• Noah Ooloonie Papatsie.

City Council

Ten candidates are contesting eight seats:

• Joanasie Akumalik;

• Kenny Bell;

• Terry Dobbin;

• Ranbir S. Hundal;

• Jimmy Kilabuk;

• Lewis Falkiner Mackay;

• Mark Morrissey;

• Simon Nattaq;

• Romeyn Stevenson; and,

• Mary Ekho Wilman.

Iqaluit District Education Authority

Seven candidates will run for five positions on the Iqaluit District Education Authority:

• Joanne Ashley;

• Gwen Healy;

• Lori Idlout;

• John Terence Maurice;

• Andrew Tagak;

• Alan Weeks; and,

• Alden Williams.

Apex District Education Authority

There will be no election for the Apex DEA. Only three candidates were nominated to fill four vacant positions on the body and each will gain a seat by acclamation:

• Alethea Arnaquq-Baril;

• Anne Crawford; and,

• Jesse Mike.

Commission scolaire francophone du Nunavut

Only four people were nominated to fill five vacant positions. The following people have gained seats on the CSFN by acclamation:

• Louis Arki;

• Jacques Fortier;

• Manon Painchaud; and,

• Seth Reinhart.

For general information on the Iqaluit elections, visit this website.

For information on the ratepayers referendum, visit this page

And you may find more information and documents about the issue on this page.


Email this story to a friend... Print this page... Bookmark and Share