Nunatsiaq News
NEWS: Nunavut June 19, 2014 - 11:58 am

Nunavut premier names Ed Picco to top political job

Premier also announces five new DMs, ADMs — and three retirements

Ed Picco, a former MLA and cabinet minister, will serve as Nunavut Premier Peter Taptuna's next principal secretary. (FILE PHOTO)
Ed Picco, a former MLA and cabinet minister, will serve as Nunavut Premier Peter Taptuna's next principal secretary. (FILE PHOTO)

Ed Picco, a former veteran MLA and cabinet minister, will serve as Nunavut Premier Peter Taptuna’s principal secretary effective June 25, the premier’s office announced June 19.

“The appointment of Mr. Picco is a significant addition to my political team, and I’m confident his transition back into the public sector will be smooth given his level of political experience as a former senior minister in Nunavut and member of the legislative assembly in the Northwest Territories,” Taptuna said in a news release.

The principal secretary position is the top political job within the premier’s office.

Picco will replace Alain Barriault, who has served as principal secretary since Nov. 25, 2013.

Barriault will now likely work “in another capacity” within the Nunavut public service, Taptuna said.

“Mr. Barriault has been valuable to our office,” Taptuna said.

Picco served in the Northwest Territories legislature between 1995 and 1999 as MLA for Iqaluit.

Between 1999 and 2008, Picco held the Iqaluit East seat in the Nunavut legislature and served at various times as minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corp. and minister of health and education.

He left politics in 2008 to work in the private sector, where he held a senior sales position at First Air.

“He brings a wealth of political and private sector experience to the position,” Taptuna’s announcement said.

Meanwhile, Lori Kimball will serve as president of the Nunavut Housing Corp., effective immediately.

She has served as acting president since Nov. 25, 2013, when Barriault left the NHC presidency to work in Taptuna’s office.

“Ms. Kimball has been an asset in reviewing outstanding issues and implementing changes to tighten reporting structures and fiscal accountability,” the announcement said.

Gabriel Nirlungayuk will depart his job at Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. on July 21 to become deputy minister of the Department of Environment.

Right now, Nirlungayuk works as director of wildlife and environment at NTI.

Pauloosie Suvega will become deputy minister of Economic Development and Transportation effective June 30.

Suvega will succeed Bob Long, who is retiring after serving as deputy minister of ED&T since 2009.

Jim Stevens, former director of the Mackenzie Valley Highway with the Government of the Northwest Territories, has been serving since May 12 as assistant deputy minister responsible for ED&T’s transportation portfolio.

Bernie MacIsaac will depart his job as director of lands and resource development at the Qikiqtani Inuit Association this Aug. 25 to serve as assistant deputy minister responsible for ED&T’s economic development portfolio.

Also, David Lloyd will retire, as of June 27, from his assistant deputy minister job at the Department of Education.

“Mr. Lloyd was influential in advancing the Pathway to Adult Secondary School graduation program. He leaves the public sector with 28 years of service to the government,” the announcement said.

Also on June 27, Sandy Teiman will retire from her job as assistant deputy minister in the Family Services department.

The Nunavut government is still seeking people to fill a variety of deputy and assistant deputy minister vacancies through job competitions.

“Additionally, the government is moving forward to advance competitions for other senior positions using fair and transparent practices,” the announcement said.



Email this story to a friend... Print this page... Bookmark and Share