NEWS: Around the Arctic October 17, 2012 - 5:23 am

Indspire announces 2013 winners

Charlie Evalik and Duane Smith among this year's recipients


Fourteen outstanding indigenous Canadians were named Oct. 16 as recipients of 2013 Indspire awards.

Formerly known as the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards, the Indspire awards celebrate the significant contributions of indigenous people in Canada.

A national jury comprised of former award recipients reviewed the nominations and selected 10 career achievement award winners, three youth award winners (First Nation, Inuit and Métis) and one lifetime achievement award.

“The selection is a confidential process that is based on the highest merits of fairness, honesty and respect to the hundreds of deserving nominees,” said an Indspire news release.

“Each and every one of our Award recipients is a role model and a leader who has made a profound impact in their communities and across Canada,” said Roberta Jamieson, Indspire’s president and chief executive officer. “By honouring their achievements, we continue to inspire others to demonstrate their own potential — which is why the work we do at Indspire with First Nation, Inuit and Métis students is so essential.”

The 2013 Indspire award recipients include:

• Charlie Evalik of Cambridge Bay, the president of the Kitikmeot Inuit Association, for business and commerce;

• Duane Smith of Inuvik, the president of Canada’s Inuit Circumpolar Council, for politics; and,

• Elizabeth Zarpa of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, a board member on the Canada World Youth, for the Inuit youth award.

The awards ceremony takes place Feb. 15, 2013 at the Sid Buckwold Theatre in Saskatoon.