Three contenders to vie for Nattilik seat in Nunavut by-election

Vote called to fill seat vacated by Enuk Pauloosie


Three people will contest the Nattilik constituency in a by-election to be held April 26, the Nunavut chief electoral officer Sandy Kusugak, said in a news release issued March 26.

The three candidates are: Jeannie Ugyuk of Taloyoak, who has served as a teacher, hamlet councillor and social worker; Joseph Aglukkaq, a former mayor of Gjoa Haven; and Antony Anguttitauruq of Gjoa Haven.

Nattilik takes in the communities of Gjoa Haven and Taloyaok, and was held by Leona Aglukkaq, now the Nunavut MP and federal health minister, between 2004 and 2008.

Enuk Pauloosie won the seat in the Oct. 27 territorial election, but resigned Feb. 22 after having been suspended from the seat for the spring 2009 session when he failed to show up for caucus and committee meetings.

In 2008, Jeannie Ugyuk finished second behind Pauloosie with 29.7 per cent of the vote.

Antony Anguttitauruq finished third in the 2004 territorial election, and finished last in the 1999 election. He did not contest the seat in 2009.

Joseph Aglukkaq finished second in the 1999 election, but has not contested the seat since.

Eligible voters in Gjoa Haven may cast ballots in an advance poll at the office of the returning officer from April 12 to April 22 between 12 noon and 7:00 p.m. every day. Eligible voters in Taloyoak may cast advance ballots on April 19 between 12 noon and 7:00 p.m.

On voting day, April 26, voters may cast ballots at the community centre in Gjoa Haven or at the hamlet office in Taloyoak.

Voters who are housebound may cast ballots in a mobile poll to be held April 19. For more information, contact Elections Nunavut at 1-800-267-4394.

Share This Story

(0) Comments