Fans get to choose winners for Arctic Music Awards

Deadline to vote is Wednesday; top vote-getters to be announced during weekend online Arctic Music Conference

Susan Aglukark will be keynote speaker at this weekend’s Arctic Music Awards, which are being held virtually this Saturday. (File photo)

By Nunatsiaq News

Music fans have until Wednesday to vote for their favourite artists in the Arctic Music Awards.

Nominees were announced earlier this month, with winners to be determined by popular vote. After the March 22 voting deadline, winners will be announced on the final day of the two-day Arctic Music Conference which runs March 24 and 25.

Nominees for artist of the year are: Aasiva, Jacob Okatsiak, Young Keen, Whigga Boi Drax, Lutie Kaviok, Shauna Seeteenak, Aocelyn, Uyarakq, Angela Amarualik.

For group of the year: Tarrak x Peand-eL, The Trade-Offs, Twin Flames.

For Indigenous artist/group of the year: Aasiva, Jacob Okatsiak, Young Keen, Lutie Kaviok, Shauna Seeteenak, Aocelyn, Tarrak x Peand-eL, Angela Amarualik, The Trade-Offs, Twin Flames.

For single of the year, nominees are: Jacob Okatsiak, Fly High; Young Keen, chimney; Lutie Kaviok, Decisions; Angela Amarualik featuring Qattuu, Sanngijuq; Shauna Seeteenak, Qiviktailigit (Don’t Give Up); Aocelyn, I Wish I Was a King; Angela Amarualik, Summa Tamaani; Uyarakq, parrutileqaat; Brenda Montana, Together As One; The Trade-Offs, Crowberry Hill; Twin Flames, Grace, Too.

For album of the year: Aasiva, Niriunniq; Young Keen, Uvanga; Lutie Kaviok, The Come Up; Shauna Seeteenak, Therapy Sessions; Aocelyn, Lovely; Angela Amarualik, Uvannik; Uyarakq, Whale Dick; The Trade-Offs, Let Go, Give In, Fall Down; Twin Flames, Omen.

For video of the year: Jacob Okatsiak, Fly High; Young Keen, chimney; Lutie Kaviok, featuring Chris Jr Mikeeuneak, Breaking Me Down; Aocelyn, I Wish I Was a King; Angela Amarualik, Angirraviga; Uyarakq, parrutileqaat; Twin Flames, Who I Am; The Trade-Offs, Put ‘Em Down.

The Arctic Music Conference is being held virtually over Zoom and the awards ceremony will be livestreamed on Twitch Saturday.

The keynote speaker for the conference is singer Susan Aglukark, and there will be performances by Twin Flames, Beatrice Deer Band, Tarrak GL, Peand-eL, Uyarakq, Jacob Okatsiak and Aasiva.

Voting for the music awards, as well as free tickets for the conference, are available online at

Share This Story

(7) Comments:

  1. Posted by OK on

    Uhh, who?

  2. Posted by Confused on

    We heard them sing but don’t know who they are, it’s not going to be fair.

  3. Posted by fluffed gizzard on

    must be a newish conference, haven’t heard of it. for amateurs only?

  4. Posted by what? on

    Is it just me or is the name “Whigga” just a tad disgusting?

    • Posted by Fett on

      Not disgusted by it, but it does scream juvenile to me

  5. Posted by I choose Whale Dick on

    Finally, Whale Dick can get the recognition it truly deserves.

  6. Posted by Inuk on

    Why do we give so much space for non-Indigenous to plan and host “Indigenous events”? The whole event is in English.


Comments are closed.