Who’s on Team Nunavik?


Two separate delegations from Nunavik will travel to AWG venues in Iqaluit and Nuuk.

Johnny Adams, chairman of the Kativik Regional Government, is the Chef de mission for Nuuk. His assistant is Silas Snowball of the KRG’s recreation department.

Michael Gordon, the mayor of Kuujjuaq, and Davidee Angutinguak, the mayor of Aupaluk, Makivik Corporation’s corporate treasurer, Anthony Ittoshat, Makivik’s secretary, George Berthe, and Saputiit Youth Association president, Andy Moorehouse, will also go to Nuuk.

The Quebec government will send Michel Létourneau, the new minister responsible for northern development and Nunavik’s MNA, as well as two other government officials.

Kuujjuaq’s heavy rock band Angava Band, throat singers Akinisie Sivuaarpik and Sarah Beaulne from Puvirnituq, and carver Jean-Jacques Séguin from Kangiqsualujjuaq will also head to Nuuk.

Frankie Gordon, recreation director at the KRG, will go to Iqaluit as Nunavik’s Chef de mission, accompanied by André Morin, Kuujjuaraapik’s recreation director, as his assistant. KRG regional councillors, Charlie Tukkiapik and George Kakayuk, and Makivik’s vice-president Adamie Alaku, and youth association secretary Emily Emudluk will also travel to Iqaluit.

ITK Job Opportunties, Senior Policy Advisor, MMIWG

The cultural contingent slated for Iqaluit includes the Qimutjuit Band as well as throat singers Sarah Surusilak and Gaina Angyiou from Puvirnituq.

Nunavik’s 32 athletes for the AWG are: Josie Kakayuk, Moses Atagotaaluk, Inukpuk Eliyassialuk, William Saunders, Norman Saunders and Tommy Moorehouse in the Open Male Inuit Games; Paul Walsh, Paul Savard, Daniel Oovaut, Terrence Tookalook, Etuk Eliyassialuk, Harry Surusilak in the Junior Male Inuit Games; Kaina Tookalak, Laura Iqaluk, Pauyungie Nutaraaluk, Barbara Muller, Julie Laroche, Martha Nakoolak in the Open Female Inuit Games; Dora Ohaituk, Susana Puttayuk, Nellie Napartuk, Sarah Nuktie, Jessie Mesher and Betsy Gordon in the Junior Female Inuit Games; Robert Wynne, Johnny Kawapit, Juani Beaulne and William Hubloo in the Open Male Dene Games; and Chris Martin, Brian York, Tamusi Sivuaraapik and Jack Annanack in the Junior Male Dene Games.

Share This Story

(0) Comments