Saputiit youth association elects a new president

Elizabeth Annahatak of Kangirsuk wins over incumbent Jonathan Epoo


Elizabeth Annahatak of Kangirsuk will lead Nunavik’s Saputiit Youth Association for the next two years.

Annahatak received 584 votes or 51 per cent of the votes cast Nov. 18 by Nunavik youth aged 15 to 35.

The incumbent president, Jonathan Epoo of Inukjuak and Kuujjuaq, received a total of 552 votes or 48 per cent of the votes.

About 29 per cent of the 3,955 eligible voters turned out for the election, with the highest percentage of voters casting ballots in Chisasibi, Kangiqsujuaq, Quaqtaq, Tasiujaq and Montreal.

The greatest number of votes cast came from Kuujjuaq — Nunavik’s largest community — where 230 voters out of a possible 639 voted. The vote there was split between Epoo, who received 114 votes, and Annahatak, who received 115 votes.

Annahatak received strong support from communities along the Ungava Bay where voter turn-out was much higher than in the Hudson Bay communities: in Inukjuak, Epoo’s home community where only 10 per cent or 54 youth voted Nov. 18.

Share This Story

(0) Comments