Iqaluit wakes up to new council, mayor

In the early hours of Tuesday morning, it was Janet Pitsiulaaq Brewster, pictured here, who led the Iqaluit city council race with 955 votes. On Nov. 5, during the swearing-in ceremony at the Nunavut Court of Justice, she will be joined by three other new faces: Solomon Awa, Sheila Flaherty and Malaiya Lucassie. Veteran councillors Joanasie Akumalik, Romeyn Stevenson, Kyle Sheppard and Simon Nattaq, who were all re-elected, will also be in attendance, along with Kenneth Bell, who bested Noah Papatsie for mayor. (Photo by Dustin Patar)

By Dustin Patar

Share This Story

(0) Comments