KIA nomination polls close


IQALUIT — Kitikmeot residents will go to the polls to elect a new vice-president, secretary treasurer on March 13.

Nominations closed for the three positions on the Kitikmeot Inuit Association’s board of directors. The incumbent vice president is Joe Allen Evyagotailak. He is running for another three-year term.

Candidates for vice-president are:

* Allen Aglukkaq of Gjoa Haven
* Joseph Aglukkaq of Gjoa Haven
* Marie Anguti of Pelly Bay
* David Aqqaq of Taloyoak
* Joe Allen Evyagotailak of Kugluktuk
* Attima Hadlari of Cambridge Bay
* Joseph Otokiak of Cambridge Bay
* Jayko Palongayok of Kugluktuk
* Candidates for secretary treasurer are:
* Anthony Anguttitauruq of Gjoa Haven
* Debbie Eleeheetook of Gjoa Haven
* Raymond Kamookak Sr. of Gjoa Haven
* David Kaosoni of Cambridge Bay
* Incumbent Pat Lyall of Taloyoak
* Jimmy Oleekatalik of Taloyoak and
* David A. Porter of Gjoa Haven

Beneficiaries living in Cambridge Bay can also cast their ballots for a community board member. The incumbent Bill Lyall is up for re-election.

The candidates are:

* Bob Aknavigak
* Vivienne Aknavigak
* Attima Hadlari
* Johnny Lyall
* Incumbent Bill Lyall

Any eligible voter who believes one of the candidates is not eligible to run for office may submit an appeal by contacting Fred Pedersen, the chief returning officer by Feb. 29.

An advance poll for each of the positions will be held on March 6, Pedersen said. A mobile poll will be open on voting day at Bay Chimo and Bathurst Inlet. Kitikmeot beneficiaries who are away from the region on voting day can also vote by proxy. Contact the KIA for the necessary forms.

Beneficiaries can make sure they’re registered to vote by contacting the KIA office in their home community, Pedersen said.

Share This Story

(0) Comments