Woman of the Year: Elisapee Davidee


This spring’s Honorary Toonik has been recognized by Pauktuutit Inuit Women’s Association as Woman of the Year.

Elisapee Davidee was chosen for the award for her work in taking single mothers out on the land to gain confidence and traditional knowledge.

Pauktuutit also named the new board of directors, who will represent their regions for the next two years. They are:

Ataomie Blake, of Northwest River, Labrador
Minnie Etidloie of Kangiqsujuaq, Ungava Region
Leana Metuq of Inukjuak, Hudson Region
Akeego Ikidluak of Kimmirut, Baffin South Region
Mary Qulittalik of Igloolik, Baffin North Region
Rhoda Paliak-Angootialuk of Coral Harbour, Kivalliq Region
Jeannie Evalik of Cambridge Bay, Kitikmeot Region
Anita Pokiak of Tuktoyaktuk, Inuvialuit Region
Ovilu Goo-Doyle of Ottawa, non-northern director
April Anderson of Nain, youth director
The Board executive will remain the same until 2005, with Mary Palliser of Inukjuak at its helm along with vice president Mary Matoo of Coral Harbour and secretary-treasurer Annie Buchan of Taloyoak.

Share This Story

(0) Comments