Incumbents easily re-elected in Makivik vote

Peters, Ittoshat return to corporation’s executive


Nunavimmiut voted to return two long-time Makivik Corp. executives to power in a Jan. 20 election.

Johnny Peters, Makivik’s vice-president of renewable resources will serve a sixth term in his role, while the organization’s treasurer Anthony Ittoshat will serve his fifth term.

About 2,100 Nunavimmiut across the region cast ballots in Thursday’s vote – 34 per cent of the region’s 6,200 eligible voters.

Peters received 1,408 votes (66 per cent), drawing strong support in most communities, aside from Quaqtaq, Kangirsuk and Aupaluk.

The Kangirsuk native was first elected to Makivik’s executive in 1996.

Peters’ only challenger, Aupaluk native David Angutinguak, received better support in some Ungava coast communities, but only received 698 votes, or 33 per cent.

Ittoshat easily held onto his position with 1,289 votes (61 per cent).

Ittoshat, first elected in 1999, earned solid support across the region but especially in his home community of Kuujjuaraapik, where he picked up 82 per cent of ballots cast.

Umiujaq treasurer hopeful Louisa Tookalook came in second with 441 votes (21 per cent) and Inukjuak’s Eliasie Nowkawalk was a close third with 371 votes (17 per cent.)

While voter turnout was low across Nunavik, the Montreal poll had 100 per cent participation, with all 92 eligible voters casting a ballot.

This is the second year that Makivik’s staggered election system takes place early in the year rather during the organization’s annual general meeting.

Long-time Makivik president Pita Aatami will be up for election in 2012.

Share This Story

(0) Comments