Nunavummiut will pick a fresh face to go to Ottawa

In Nunavik, 8 names are on the ballot in Monday’s federal election

People line up at a polling station in Iqaluit on Sept. 20. Voter turnout appears to be down in Nunavut this year. (Photo by Mélanie Ritchot)

By Nunatsiaq News

No matter what happens on election day, Nunavummiut will be picking a new face to represent them in the House of Commons on Monday.

All three candidates are women — Liberal Pat Angnakak, New Democrat Lori Idlout and Conservative Laura MacKenzie.

They’re vying for the vacant seat left by former MP Mumilaaq Qaqqaq, who decided not to seek a second-term. The New Democrat was elected in 2019.

In Nunavik, there’s a longer list of names on the ballot. Bloc Québécois MP Sylvie Bérubé is running for a second term representing the vast Abitibi–Baie-James–Nunavik–Eeyou riding that stretches from the Ungava peninsula to Val d’Or in the south.

Voters have eight names to choose from, including Conservative Steve Corriveau, Liberal Lise Kistabish, New Democrat Pauline Lameboy and the Green party’s Didier Pilon. The riding has representatives of three parties that have never elected one of its members to the House of Commons — the People’s Party of Canada, the Marijuana Party and the Free Party of Canada.

Nunavut and Nunavik are just two of 338 races whose outcomes will determine who governs Canada and whether voters trust any one party enough to give it a majority government or whether they choose to continue with a minority government.

It has been a little more than five weeks since Prime Minister Justin Trudeau called a snap election, less than two years after his Liberal party won a minority government in October 2019. Trudeau is hoping to win his third straight election as Liberal leader, while Conservative rival Erin O’Toole and the NDP’s Jagmeet Singh are hoping to end nearly six years of Liberal rule.

Polls open at 9:30 EDT in both Nunavut and Nunavik. In Nunavut, which spans three time zones, poll hours are staggered so that they all close at the same time. In the central time zone, voting stations are open from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. and from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. in the mountain time zone.

Elections Canada’s website provides information for voters in Nunavut and Abitibi– Baie-James–Nunavik–Eeyou.



Share This Story

(0) Comments